The Himalayan Masters: A Living Tradition | Himalayan Institute

The Himalayan Masters: A Living Tradition

Pandit Rajmani Tigunait, PhD

The teachings of the yoga tradition have come down to us in an unbroken lineage stretching back 5,000 years. This universal tradition is concerned with the direct experience of truth and is not limited by the boundaries of religion, nationality, geography, era, or race. This volume explores the lives and teachings of eight prominent masters of this timeless tradition - men who knew how to be successful in daily life while experiencing the innermost truths of life here and hereafter. Here, Pandit Tigunait brings the experiences and teachings of these great masters to life, with practical insights into how to discover and understand life's richest secrets for ourselves.

Product Details

Publisher: Himalayan Institute
Copyright: 2002, Current printing 2004
ISBN: 978-0-893892272
181 pages
5.5" x 8.5"

Biography / Inspiration

About the Author

Pandit Rajmani Tigunait, PhD, is a modern-day master and living link to the unbroken Himalayan Tradition. He is the successor of Sri Swami Rama of the Himalayas and the spiritual head of the Himalayan Institute. As a leading voice of and the author of 15 books, his teachings offer practical guidance on applying yogic and tantric wisdom to modern life. Over the past 35 years, Pandit Tigunait has touched innumerable lives around the world as a teacher, humanitarian, and visionary spiritual leader.

More on The Himalayan Masters: A Living Tradition

From the Introduction by Swami Rama:

The tradition of the Himalayan sages is an unbroken chain that extends for thousands of years, a living tradition that still exists today undisturbed by the passage of time. This tradition is not concerned with teachings that apply only to a particular era of history or geographical region of the world -- its entire emphasis is on the experience of that truth which is eternal and universal. To realize this truth is the highest goal of existence, although at different times and places, different terms have been used to describe it.

Even though the history of this ancient tradition remains shrouded in mystery, it is helpful for modern students to understand it and the lineage of sages who have carried on the teachings. But in seeking to study the tradition, students, no matter how sincere, are at a disadvantage. Many of the ancient texts do not exist in translation, and even when they do, their teachings require clarification and interpretation if they are to provide seekers with any practical guidance.

As Pandit Rajmani Tigunait explains, the unbroken chain of lineage in the Himalayan tradition goes back at least five thousand years.

Table of Contents

Forward by Irene Petryszak
Introduction by Swami Rama
1. The Himalayan Tradition
2. Sanatkumara
3. Vashishtha
4. Dattatreya
5. Parashurama
6. Shankaracharya
7. Vidyaranya Yati
8. Madhusudana Sarasvati
9. Swami Rama of the Himalayas
10. The Teachings in Perspective


Purchase for Wholesale

Books & Publications

‹ See more Books.